When you’re injured in a car accident, you’re possibly eligible for compensation if the accident wasn’t your fault. But the story changes if you weren’t wearing a seatbelt during the accident. You risk receiving less compensation or none at all if it’s clear you weren’t wearing a seatbelt.
California Seatbelt Law
California has strict seatbelt laws that all drivers and passengers must follow. No one can drive on a public road unless they’re wearing a seatbelt. Front and backseat passengers older than 16 must wear a seatbelt as well.
In general, passengers younger than 16 should have a booster seat or car seat. But when the child can securely fit into a standard seatbelt, they should wear one as well.
To learn more about California seatbelt law, contact the Sacramento CA personal injury attorneys at The Law Office of Black & DePaoli, PC. They are an injury law firm in Sacramento experienced with car accident cases.
California imposes a $20 fine the first time you’re caught driving without a seatbelt. And there’s a $50 fine for each additional offense. A driver also risks receiving a ticket for each unbuckled passenger. To avoid paying any fines, you may possibly have the option of attending traffic school.
California law recognizes that not wearing a seatbelt can contribute to a victim’s injuries. So even if the accident wasn’t your fault, the court will take into account that you weren’t wearing a seatbelt. The other driver’s insurance company will also consider your lack of seatbelt.
Contact a Sacramento Personal Injury Attorney
Having an attorney on your side can make it easier to get the compensation you deserve. You need a professional attorney who can deal with the insurance company. You also may need representation in court.
The Law Office of Black & DePaoli, PC is an injury law firm in Sacramento. When you need Sacramento CA personal injury attorneys, The Law Office of Black & DePaoli, PC can represent you.